Continuation on Excellence Divided: Fragility


So, how do we find that strength? What is, essentially, the strength of fragility?

I am enthralled by the very thought of strength found in weakness. It captures my attention and holds me there, transfixed, eager to learn more. One of my favorite books that touches on the subject of fragile strength is John and Stasi Eldredge’s ‘Captivating’.

Women are described, in I Peter 3:7, as ”someone weaker, since she is a woman…”. Now I don’t think that Peter is saying women are weak, but weaker. And I don’t think anyone can say that women do not contain strength. Think of Mother Teressa, Joan of Arc, Moses’ mother, Ruth, Esther, and one of my personal favorites: Mary the mother of Jesus.

What made each of these women strong? I believe it was their fragility. Christ said; “My grace is sufficient for you, for power (or strength) is perfected in weakness.”

Paul went on to say “Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. I am well content with (my) weaknesses…”. II Cor. 12:9, 10.

Weakness, just like fear (a subject I will touch upon at a later date), is not something to be ashamed of. You cannot be strong, unless you are first weak.

“For consider your calling, brethren, that there were not many wise according to the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble; but God has chosen the foolish things of the world to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of the world to shame the things which are strong, and the base things of the world and the despised God has chosen, the things that are not, so that He may nullify the things that are, so that no man may boast before God. But by His doing you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, and righteousness and sanctification, and redemption, so that, just as it is written, “Let him who boasts, boast in the Lord.”  I Cor. 1:26-31                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

Leave a Reply

