Sisters; The Perfect Ingredient For Happiness


“I will not say that your mulberry trees are dead, but I am afraid they are not alive.” Jane Austen, in a letter to her sister, Cassandra

I love reading the, albeit meager, correspondence between Jane and Cassandra. It reminds me of the relationship between my own sisters and me. This is exactly one of the many sarcastic, dry attempts at humour that come out of one of the four of us!

What a great blessing it is to have sisters! And twice the blessing to be best friends! I have met many girls who cannot stand their sisters; and it always makes me sad. What wonderful happiness they are missing out on! They do not enjoy the companionship of sisters trekking through pastures and woods, streams and meadows. Of shopping together, being as goofy as possible, trying on a million different outfits (or in some cases, forcing a sister to try them on with you!). Of lying awake into the early hours of the morning, either laughing, or expounding on beliefs and theories; ‘philosophying’ as sis’ Christi and I like to call it. 🙂

I have been separated from my own sisters for more than a week now; and I miss them terribly. I cannot wait to get back to them; share all our ups and downs of the past week; our joys and sorrows; our successes, and our laughable failures!

My sisters, my best friends; I love and miss you. I look forward to the time we can once more do all these things together!

Leave a Reply

