Unlearned and Uninformed Females


“I think I may boast myself to be, with all possible vanity, the most unlearned and uninformed female who ever dared to be an authoress.” Jane Austen, to a clergyman who wanted her to write the history of a German royal house.

Who wouldn’t love to claim the words of the famous Jane Austen? Except for perhaps those words. But I *flatter* myself that there are occasions (sometimes quite frequently) that I can quite definitely claim those words for myself. That’s the only good thing I can say about it; that the words first came from Miss Austen. After that, there really is no pride to be had in the matter. I am often a very unlearned and uninformed female (who also dares to be an authoress).

Though, I must say, I have discovered some benefits to being ignorant. But not overly so; I would never wish to be a “blond”. But who wants to be around someone who always knows everything? Not me. It can get very tiring, very fast. I’m learning to say, ”I don’t know” and ”can you tell me what this is?”. It’s a very humbling experience, but very freeing. If you’ve met me, you probably know I’m one of those people who think they should know the answer to everything, and somehow feel they’ve failed if they don’t. Not neccesarily the truth. Jane Austen has some wonderful insights for those who wish to find them. Many of us could learn by her example.

Leave a Reply

