Turtle Island; Animals; Craziness


I had the opportunity to hear an incredible string quartet this week; Turtle Island. I even got their CD slip autographed! πŸ˜†

My sisters’ guitar teacher on campus was taking a group of students to meet the quartet a few hours before the performance; he invited my two sisters and I to go along. They shared some about themselves, played a few songs, and opened the floor to questions. We were rather a small group, so instead of sitting in the auditorium, the guys invited us up on-stage with them to ‘look over their shoulders and read the music with them’. Most of the students there were guitarists, but we had three violinists; and joy! I was the only ‘cellist! That meant that I got some extra attention…which flustered me so that any questions I might have had fled my mind immediately. πŸ™‚ These guys were amazing; so much talent. Turtle Island was pretty busy, as they were giving a concert that evening, so they were only able to give us an hour or so. I left knowing I’d be back for the concert, while my sisters went to a basketball game. After calling up everyone I could think of to go with me, my mother offered so I wouldn’t have to go by myself. I was smiling practically the whole evening; my mother was very kind to go with me, as the quartet plays classical/jazz, and jazz is not a genre my mother enjoys. Afterwards, I took her on a tour of the new union on campus; she was properly impressed. πŸ™‚

I was also greatly inspired by the ‘cellist in Turtle Island; I have been practicing mine more the last two days than I usually do in two weeks!

Hearing the Turtle Island String Quartet came as a very welcome break in my week; which has been a very stressful one. My horse foundered again; and one of my calves has been sick, with what, I don’t know. Between those two creatures I have been pretty stressed and worn out. I’ve barely had time to be online this week, which in itself is difficult for me, as the majority of my relationships are continued/exist online. I have a friend who is going through a difficult time this week, and my heart aches for her, and I wish so much to be there with her to share in her pain. So, all said, I feel like I’ve been pressed from all sides; and barely holding up.

On the bright side; the men in our church had a campout out in our back woods….they all seemed to have a wonderful time; and today all the women and girls came out for a church service and picnic lunch. We all enjoyed sharing just a bit of the camping experience with our men. πŸ™‚ Very glad they had the opportunity to draw closer together through a “guys” trip. πŸ˜†

Now I’m fixing to start off on another crazy week…..ahhhh…at least summer is almost here. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

