Semi-Finals; American Idol-Rounds Two And Three


ROUND TWO
David Archuleta picked “With You” by Chris Brown.
His reason: “I wanted to try something more youthful this week. It’s something I haven’t done yet, and I thought, ‘Hey, it’s worth a shot’.”
I didn’t quite know what to think about this one. After I finally got over the “lyrical flub” at the beginning and realized what he was really saying (much to my relief), it was just alright for me. It wasn’t bad. Not at all. But it wasn’t great either. I’ve heard some commenter’s make fun of his dancing, and I think that’s just tacky. His dancing was just fine to me. His vocals were good. But I guess it was just the type of song that got me. It just didn’t seem like him. But that doesn’t mean that the performance was bad. I don’t think it was what the Archie fans have grown to love or expect from him, that’s all.
Randy had the same reaction as I did; “I applaud you for trying something new and young; but I don’t think it was the right song for you; it just wasn’t you.”
Paula thought he did a “Great job! It was perfect, at the right tone of your voice; You should be singing songs like this”. She even offered some constructive criticism: “Watch…shorten the phrases a little bit.”
Simon applauded the fact that David didn’t do “A ballad”, but thought it was rather like a Chihuahua trying to be a Tiger; just not really you. It was a bit awkward.”

Syesha Mercado chose “Fever” by Peggy Lee. She “liked the vibe of the song.”
I thought this was an interesting song choice…perhaps Syesha has taken the Broadway comments too seriously? Even saying that; I thought she did a great job. She is a really good performer; and I really liked it. She isn’t my favorite contestant, but there’s no denying that she is good. Well, the judges might deny it. I was very upset with them last night; I think they gave her a completely unfair, unjust critique (as follows).
Randy also thought it an “interesting song choice at this point. But you sang it amazingly well.” (Yes, I know that was positive, Randy was good to her; the others weren’t.)
Paula was also “Surprised at this song choice. I’m not sure it shows me who Syesha is as an artist…”
And Simon thought she would “Probably regret that[song choice] decision tomorrow, I think. It was quite a lame cabaret performance.”

David Cook chose “Dare You to Move” by Switchfoot. His explanation? “Lyrically, for me, it wrapped up this whole experience here; you know, ‘Welcome to the planet. Welcome to existence. Everyone’s here.’ Like you[Ryan] said, going from being a ‘bartender’ to here…just seemed like the appropriate song for the appropriate moment.”
This band is a favorite among my siblings…so I’ve heard this song MANY times. I thought it was a great choice for him. After hearing it, I wasn’t so sure anymore. It was a little pitchy; but I did still like it. Was it only because it was David Cook who was singing? Maybe…I don’t think I can call that one. 🙂
Randy said it was “A great song choice. Performance-wise…wasn’t the best. A little pitchy.”
Paula felt like she “only got the beginning of the song” and it left her wanting more.
Simon thought there wasn’t “much to add to that. Not the best melodic song in the world. Everyone had just an OK middle round.”

And no winners were called.

ROUND THREE
David Archuleta. The producers chose “Longer” by Dan Fogelberg for him to sing.
I thought this really was a GREAT song choice. The whole performance was very nice, vocals-yes! This was my favorite of Archie’s performances last night.
Randy again thought it an “Interesting song choice” but called it “Another hot one. In the zone vocally; You can sing the phonebook!”
Paula seemed quite happy with David final performance, saying “I expect nothing more. Very lovely; a lovely performance.”
Simon thought David “Sang it very well.” He then went on to criticize the song lyrics-how could David help that? He didn’t even pick the song-which is a lovely song, by the way. A loud Boo for Simon(maybe the only one he’s gotten from me ever)! He did admit that David had “Done enough to get into the finals next week.” I’m not so sure that he did do enough, but I think he will be there.

Syesha Mercado. The producers chose “Hit Me Up” by Gia Farrell. Wow. Another not very good song choice for Syesha. She was just plagued with them last night, poor girl.
I thought it was fun; She had nice vocals. It would be hard for me to get all the lyrics into the up-tempo pace of the song, but she did a great job. I also really liked the ending. She did a great job on a song that didn’t allow her to show her full potential.
Randy thought it was “Just OK. Just alright for me. But I can see you doing a song like that.”
Paula said she “Did the song very well. It wasn’t the type to define you as an artist either. I’m not sure it was enough to put you in the finale.”
Simon told her it was “Better than the second song for sure. Little forgettable; didn’t give you the defining moment I would have liked at this point in the show. To be honest with you, your best moment came last week with the Sam Cook song.”

David Cook. The producers chose “I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing” by Aerosmith. Another great choice by the producers!
David did an amazing job with this; it was awesome! My favorite from him last night; and definitely my overall favorite of the night!
Randy “Loved the song; But it was OK. Very predictable.” Yes, I agree, it was rather predictable, but it was still good. The same as Archie’s “Longer”.
Paula declared this one did have a “Beginning, middle, and an end. See ya’ in the finals!”
Simon thought it “One of the greatest songs of all time. I have to tell you, David Cook…you win the night.”

So…only six more minutes by my clock till the results show starts….we’ll see how they fared soon. And I may be back on here to rant and rave, whichever way it goes. I really think these top three are extremely talented.
As always, comments welcome!

One thought on “Semi-Finals; American Idol-Rounds Two And Three”

Leave a Reply

