The Beauty To Be Found…


I used to think that, at some point, life has to get easier. I think now that assumption is wrong. Dead wrong.

Life doesn’t get easier. The older you get, the harder it gets. But maybe that’s as it should be; right? Look at like this; we’re constantly growing older, so we should, theoretically, be also growing wiser. If we’re growing wiser, we should be able to cope with things that previously we couldn’t. Life should constantly grow harder.

I’ve decided I hate cancer. Who doesn’t, really? It’s an evil thing. But I have to remind myself to look for the good in it. Is that like an oxy-moron? The good in an evil thing? Anyway…

“To look at a thing is quite different from seeing it; for one does not see anything, until one sees it’s true beauty.”

So, what’s the beauty to be found in something as ugly as cancer? I think it’s what you let the circumstance make of you. The lessons to be learned through it.
And most importantly; where it brings you in your relationship with Jesus Christ.

My grandmother was just diagnosed with cancer. A friend of mine has it. Another friend died from it last year. Until then, cancer was just some word that didn’t mean much to me. Now, it’s way to real.
But I’m determined I’ll learn something in this. That I will allow it to improve my life; not detract from it.
And I will have a positive attitude through this time. Come what may; Lord be my help, the Rock on which I stand, the Helper of my countenance.

One thought on “The Beauty To Be Found…”

  1. That’s a great attitude. Don’t deny that it is hard, but don’t run away from it either. Embracing the fact that it is hard leads us to the place where we give up trying to do it all ourselves, and finally let the real Expert take over, 😉
    I don’t know if you’ve ever heard of the music group called Telecast, but they have some amazing songs. One in particular always encourages me. It is called “Your Wounded Feet” and it’s from their album titled “Eternity Is Now”. One line from the chorus goes:
    “Whenever it feels like I’m in too deep, I am reminded ‘I am in You’, and the storms that threaten lie beneath Your wounded feet.”

    BTW, I finally updated my blog. Maybe we should keep each other accountable in this area. LOL

Leave a Reply

