On The Subject of Singlehood


I was reading in Elizabeth George’s book, “Loving God With All Your Mind”, this morning. The back cover (and I don’t know who wrote this) says “When we find our thoughts overwhelmed by fear, worry, and depression, it’s dificult to keep our minds focused on truth and joy!” And don’t I know it! As I’ve mentioned before, I face depression on a fairly regular basis; worry and fear even more. And I feel robbed of truth and joy constantly. George writes in chapter 2, “Crippling fear comes to us for a variety of reasons.” I can completely identify with paragraph six…I too worry that I shall be single all the days of my life. I know, though, that God has called me at this time in my life, right now, to be single. “So”, as Matthew 6:34 says, “do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of it’s own.”

I was also reading in Hebrews 13 today, and this passage stuck out to me in the context of what is written above…”‘Make sure that [you are]…content with what you have; for He Himself has said, “I will never desert you, nor will I ever forsake you,’ so that we confidently say, ‘The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid…” verses five and six. And verses 8, 15, and 16; “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever…Through Him then, let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of lips that give thanks to His name. And do not neglect doing good and sharing, for with such sacrifices God is pleased.”

I do not know what God has for me in my years of singleness, but I do know it is not to be pining away for the married life; that’s definitely not being “content with what you have”. Jesus is the same, always and forever, and His Word never changes. He has given me a purpose for this time; He has given me things to do and plans to accomplish; and I should not be shirking them. If you ever struggle with feeling as though God can’t possibly love you if you’re still single, take a look at the following verses…you’ll have to change your mind.
“‘Fear not, for you will not be put to shame; and do not feel humiliated, for you will not be disgraced; but you will forget the shame of your youth, and the reproach of your widowhood you will remember no more. For your husband is your Maker, whose name is the LORD of hosts; and your Redeemer is the Holy One of Israel, who is called the God of all the earth. For the LORD has called you, like a wife forsaken and grieved in spirit, even like a wife of one’s youth when she is rejected,’ says your God. ‘For a brief moment I forsook you, but with great compassion I will gather you. In an outburst of anger I hid My face from you for a moment, but with everlasting lovingkindness I will have compassion on you,’ says the LORD your Redeemer. ‘O afflicted one, storm-tossed, and not comforted, behold, I will set your stones in antimony, and your foundations I will lay in sapphires. Moreover, I will make your battlements of rubies, and your gates of crystal, and your entire wall of precious stones. All your sons will be taught of the LORD; and the well-being of your sons will be great. In righteousness you will be established; you will be far from oppression, for you will not fear; and from terror, for it will not come near you. If anyone fiercely assails you it will not be from Me. Whoever assails you will fall because of you. Behold, I Myself have created the smith who blows the fire of coals and brings out a weapon for its work; and I have created the destroyer to ruin. No weapon that is formed against you will prosper; and every tongue that accuses you in judgment you will condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and their vindication is from Me,’ declares the LORD.” Isaiah 54:4-8, 11-17.

Leave a Reply

