Opera Gala


I don’t know exactly what happened, but I must have lost my mind. I signed up to participate in the ‘Opera Gala’ at my college. The Gala will consist of single numbers from multiple musicals and operas.

The parts I landed (and I didn’t even audition for them!) were Yum-Yum in The Mikado,

and Kathie in The Student Prince. Never mind that my part is mute in the latter. 😆

To be honest, I’m not really sure if I want to take that one on…call me old-fashioned, but I don’t fancy the thought of some guy I hardly know grabbing me in that manner.

Add to it all that I HATE appearing publicly like that. I mean, I don’t like to be the center of attention in a crowd; I get all flustered, confused, not to mention embarrassed. But that is something I need to work on; appearing publicly I mean. It’s a good skill to have, whether we use it often or not. And I think I’m going to be given plenty of opportunities to stretch myself in that way over the next couple months. In addition to the Gala, I will be giving a powerpoint presentation in my computer class, and I think I may have to do something in my Ag Econ class…but it may turn out I won’t after all; I’ll see. Oh, yeah, and I’ll have at least two juries this semester with voice, as well as having to perform for the studio class multiple times.

These are all things that place me way out of my comfort zone. But that’ll be good for me. I just hope I survive. 😆

Leave a Reply

