Thoughts on Tonight


Well, my poll indicated that Adam Lambert, Allison Iraheta, and Megan Corkrey would be our top three tonight…most of you now know that it was almost completely correct…well, two/thirds correct. Adam, Allison, and Kris Allen will all be moving on to the coveted top twelve.

No, I still don’t get all the hype surrounding Adam…maybe it all boils down to personal preference. I did like his performance tonight much more than last nights. And I liked his audition and during Hollywood week he sounded stellar. Maybe that’s why I was so dissapointed last night; because it was just so different than the Adam I had previously seen and enjoyed.

Allison and Kris, to me, didn’t perform as well as they did last night. But they both completely deserve to be in the top twelve…and, upon reflection, so does Adam. Sure, I didn’t enjoy hearing (or seeing) him perform “Satisfaction”, but that doesn’t change the fact that he has incredible range and good vocals. So, yeah, tonight I’m very happy with the results.

I am sorry (though not surprised) that Jasmine did not make it through. The judges did hint that we’d be seeing some of the same faces from tonight in the wild card round…maybe we’ll see Jasmine again?

Speaking of the wild card round…I understand that the following might possiblly be the case: The judges each pick two of their favorites to come back to perform for the wild card round; from which three are then chosen (as in the auditions) to progress up to the final twelve.
Who will be in this wild card round? Well, without having seen the last group, it is certainly too early to tell. But here are a few of my guesses. Ricky Braddy (absolutely), Anoop Desai, Megan Corkrey, Matt Giraud. With possibly one of the following thrown in there somewhere; Tatiana Del Toro, Anne Marie Boskovich, Jasmine Murray, and Jesse Langseth. “But that’s nearly all of them!” you say. Yeah, I know. 🙂 There’s a lot of talent this year.
Of course, we havn’t heard the last group yet, so as I said, it’s still too early to tell.

And that leads me on; the last group of twelve. They are, in alphabetical order:
Alex Wagner-Trugman
Arianna Asfar
Felicia Barton
Jorge Nunez
Ju’Not Joyner
Kendall Beard
Kristen McNamara
Lil Rounds
Nathaniel Marshall
Scott MacIntyre
Taylor Vaifanua
and Von Smith

My early predictions are that we’ll see (and hear) some great stuff from Lil Rounds, Scott, and Von Smith…those three are going to be hard to beat. But anything is possible (gah-I sound like some cheesy comercial!) at this point. I think Alex and Felicia may come in swinging…and honestly, I don’t remember either Taylor or Arianna, so completely possible that they could take me by surprise.

One things’ for sure, I am (and probably all of the contestants are too) so ready for next week to be over! Then we’ll know our top twelve…but I guess the pressure’s still on then…the consequences aren’t quite so severe, though, in that only one will be leaving per week versus the nine so far.

So much for this week, now we’re on to the next!

As always, I welcome your feedback! (hint, hint–Come on, I know there are a number of you, surely someone has something to say!) 😀

Leave a Reply

