You are Beautiful…you really are.


I have often been told I’m a confident person.
For someone so confident, I sure have low self-esteem. How’s that work, anyway?

Tonight my brother and I were driving home after cleaning the church. We usually talk about this and that…but at this time, there was just silence, I guess we both had a lot to think about. And this song came on the radio, following J.J. Heller’s “What Love Really Means” (a song that already had me feeling raw), and I seriously wanted to just pull over onto the shoulder of the road and cry my heart out.

The days will come when you don’t have the strength; when all you hear is ‘you’re not worth anything’. Wondering if you ever could be loved, and if they truly saw your heart they’d see too much.”
They were singing a cry of my heart, right there on the radio…and in that moment, I was the only one listening.
I struggle much more these days…It’s hard to believe anyone else see’s something special, precious, and beautiful in you when you don’t believe it yourself. When you look at yourself, and you see it’s not true. Only you know just how dirty, disgusting, how utterly repulsive you really are. And you ask yourself who could see anything in that?
I look in the mirror, and hate myself…I hate how fat I am. I dislike this or that feature. I go through the pain of this illness, with all the horrid, crippling side effects, and hate what it makes me become, what it does to me as a person, my character. I look at my selfish, dirty heart, my lack of compassion, the harshness of my life, and I hate who I am.

And you ask yourself WHO could see anything in that? Who, indeed….But Someone did. The best we have to offer is disgusting, filthy rags, but still He loved us…to the point that He took the bullet for us, so to speak. That’s the ultimate love, for the least of us…for me.

I was spoken to specifically tonight, through that radio, not as one in a group of a hundred…but me, only me. And I knew in that instant that God did love me, for me.  That He does treasure me as His…if no-one else ever saw, if no-one ever wanted me, loved me for who I really am, not just for what’s on the surface, He will still love me. And that should be enough.

The days will come when you don’t have the strength; when all you hear is ‘you’re not worth anything’. Wondering if you ever could be loved, and if they truly saw your heart they’d see too much.
You are beautiful. You’re beautiful. You are made for so much more than all of this. You are beautiful. You’re beautiful. You are treasured, you are sacred, you are His; you’re beautiful.
I’m praying that you have the heart to find, cause you are more than what is hurting you tonight. For all the lies you’ve held inside so long, they are nothing in the shadow of the cross.
You are beautiful. You’re beautiful. You are made for so much more than all of this. You are beautiful. You’re beautiful. You are treasured, you are sacred, you are His; you’re beautiful.

Before you ever took a breath, long before the world began. Of all the wonders He possessed, there was one more precious; of all the earth and skies above you’re the one He madly loves…
Enough to die.
You are beautiful. You’re beautiful in His eyes.
You are beautiful. You’re beautiful. You are made for so much more than all of this. You are beautiful. You’re beautiful. You are treasured, you are sacred, you are His; you’re beautiful.

One thought on “You are Beautiful…you really are.”

  1. My dearest friend,
    In this post you have captured an issue most girls struggle with, “I’m not pretty” “I’m not wanted”.
    My thought is that if someone as completely beautiful as you struggles with this then almost every girl does. You might brush off my opinion, but please remember I AM you severest critic. If you listen me when I pick at you and adjust you and preach at you, then common sense (one of your strong points) dictates that you listen to me now when I say that you are of the most handsomest women of my acquaintance.

Leave a Reply

