Found What I Was Looking For


“Have you ever wanted to be someone else?
Have you ever wanted just to be someone?
Have you ever wanted to reach your dreams?
Have you ever wanted life to be more than it seems?
I have tasted of a love so wide, that it stops all my time.
I have tasted of a love so deep, that it blows my mind.

Have you ever wanted to reach up and touch the sky?
Have you ever wanted to pack it up and say good-bye?
Have you ever wanted someone to care?
Have you ever wanted someone to be there?
I have tasted of a love so wide, that it stops all my time.
I have tasted of a love so deep, that it blows my mind.

He is sweet…He is sweet. What you’re looking for is my sweet, sweet Jesus.
What you’re looking for is my sweet Lord.”

This whole summer, God has been preparing my heart for…something. I did not know what He was going to tell me, all He revealed at the time was that something in my life was going to change. I could let my mind run away with the millions of different things that could mean…but always, He kept bringing me back. He is going to change whatever He wants. He will bring about His will in my life. All I must do is wait, watch, and then act on what He gives me.

Well, I found what I was looking for. God revealed some of those changes that He wished to accomplish in my life.And most of them have nothing to do with going somewhere new, or drastically changing my lifestyle. No. They are changes He wishes to make within me.

Some of them are kind of hard to look at, yet, I am filled with such an excitement, to know that God is doing things in my life, that I no longer care about the pain that may come along when addressing these issues in my life. In fact, I welcome it; knowing that there are things in my life surrounded by pain, and kept that way, because I would not allow God access to them…until now. And I realize that what I thought would be even worse than that pain (having God near it to see and touch it), is so much better. So much more.

As believers we build our lives around so much…some of it quite good, such as God’s word. That is what we should be striving for. But if we are not careful, we can become hardened…we can become as the Pharisees’, holding to the letter of the law, but having no real love for our God, no relationship with our Christ. If we are not careful, we can be choked out by the cares of this world…by the deceitfulness of sin.

I know that there are many things God wants to change about me…some that He has brought to my attention now, and others that He will deal with at some future date. But one thing He is talking to me about now is joy.
Psalm 51:12 “Restore to me the joy of Your salvation, and sustain me with a willing spirit.”
I always thought that meant that God had a willing spirit to sustain me…but other versions say “grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me”, “make me willing to obey You“…in other words, in order to be sustained, I must be willing to submit myself to Him, to accept what He brings. I realize that I have allowed myself to steal the joy God had given, the joy of His salvation, all the while expecting Him to do all the work in restoration. I must be willing. That is, I must be willing to do what He says, to search the scriptures, and to once again, choose joy in my life.

I was so convicted of this area of sin in my life during this past trip to Florida. My dearest friends and sisters there are such instruments of God’s joy…I am with them but minutes, and I know that God is there in their midst; there is no doubt that they love Christ, that they are willing to be used by and of Him, and that His Spirit dwells within them. Joy radiates from within them. They are such encouragement to me, and I love and miss them like crazy.

This is a sermon series on Joy by John MacArthur; my dear friend Evelyn passed it on to me after one of our discussions.

I (like many another fellow believer, I am sure) have such longings within my soul…longings that can only be satisfied by Christ. But on this trip, I have tasted of a love so wide…I have tasted of a love so deep…what I am looking for is my sweet Jesus. When you taste of His love, nothing else looks as sweet. When you catch a closer glimpse of His majesty, you never want to go back.

5 thoughts on “Found What I Was Looking For”

  1. Inner joy (aka Joy in the Lord) truly represents the real beauty found only in Christ! I thank the Lord that He is filling you(and me)with such a “treasure in jars of clay” My soul was refreshed by your post, sweet friend! ❤
    Ephesians 2:10
    For we are God's workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. :^)

  2. So true and so beautiful!!! I love what you said at the end:
    “When you taste of His love, nothing else looks as sweet. When you catch a closer glimpse of His majesty, you never want to go back.” ❤ you were able to put that into words!!!
    =)

Leave a Reply

