Florida; Road Trip & Day One


Where do I begin? This trip was truly amazing, and for me, life changing. God addressed so many things, big things, in my life during this trip. He used the people there, circumstances, scripture, and His Holy Spirit to convict me, gently, of areas in my life that need Him. See my previous post for an example.

But this post is about pictures, the truly amazing people, and what exactly we did down there….scratch that. This post is part ONE of THREE…there was no way I was going to be able to fit the whole trip under one post. You’d totally get bored and skip the whole thing instead of just 65%. πŸ˜‰ lol

Hope started out driving at 3:45 am on Wednesday (not yesterday, but the week before); I got to be her navigator, and KattyRae took the first shift of sleep. Soon enough, though, I was forced into the back, leaving those two totally irresponsible peeps up front on their own. πŸ˜‰

I never had the opportunity (or misfortune, some might say) of sincerely regretting this arrangement, so that was a positive. πŸ™‚

We finally made it to the state of Florida…and of course, we had to stop to record this historic event.

It is true, the sun ISΒ  shinier down there!

We had a bit of trouble taking a group picture of ourselves by ourselves…let’s just say, my arms are not very long. And after numerous tries…

We took turns after that…

My sisters do sometimes need to be separated…

We had originally planned to arrive by 8:30pm…but our GPS told us it would be a whole hour earlier. After we called our friends to expect us then, we decided to make a slight detour around 6:45pm for gas and a quick Walmart stop. That ‘quick’ detour/stop turned into a 45 minute episode. Once we finally hit the road again, behind schedule, we kept wondering and driving, as our arrival time passed and our destination point didn’t appear. At last, we realized that our smart GPS wasn’t so smart after all…while I had assumed that since it used satellite it would have automatically taken the time change into affect, I had assumed incorrectly. So we finally arrived around 9:30pm, after keeping our patient friends waiting two hours. lol

We of course stayed up till 2am or so talking and catching up, then hit the Sanibel beach the next morning.

Hope comes very close to needing a membership at Beachaholics Anonymous.

And while KattyRae is quite attached to her camera, and takes amazing photo’s, there is a surprising lack of photo’s from her. 😦

Sweetheart Jessi

Inspirational Evelyn

Amazing Gaby

We picniced on the beach…

And walked around

Jessi’s Heart. When the sand was scraped away, you discovered a layer of broken shells underneath; it was so cool.

And, Jessi found a crab. See him, that little brown spot between those two white shells?

Kat and Evelyn quickly outpaced the other four of us, who would stop to examine every little thing. A plus of being in the rear…at some point, when it comes time to turn around, you are in the lead. πŸ™‚

The beach was lined with shells and fragments. The actual sand is those dark gray patches…all the rest were shells.

We weren’t going to leave Sanibel without first finding the historic lighthouse…which was surprisingly hard to find for such.

But once we had, it was pretty cool. The beach around the lighthouse was really nice, too.

Once we had found and conquered our quest for the lighthouse, we piled back in the car, and headed straight to the W’s. Tim W. is dating my dear friend, Evelyn, and his parents had very graciously extended their dinner invitation to the girls to include my sisters and I. Their family is so amazing; I had not expected to find such graciousness outside of the deep South (another one of those slaps–remember Thor, I have to keep telling myself), and in many ways it exceeded the traditional hospitable south. Mrs Chris is such a sweet and godly woman; Mr Bruce was very nice; Josh and Alisha were a lot of fun to meet, along with their ‘baby’, Mikka, an American Eskimo; and Tim is a really great guy, I couldn’t be happier that Evelyn and he are dating. They all made us feel very welcome, and at home.

We visited for quite some time there, then finally headed back to the girls house. There, we chatted amongst ourselves, played a little Mario Kart on the Wii ( I primarily watched, as I was quite cautious of Wii, having little to no experience in it, and missing my brothers’ familiar Xbox), and settled in to watch the new Jane Eyre.

Let me tell you something; YOU. MUST. WATCH. IT. Sometime. It was really good…and I need to watch it with you, as I dozed off for about 30 minutes and woke up during the tense time of the movie. That was a little confusing. But I knew the story-line, so I was good. Mia Wasikowska….Jane Eyre, remember that.

By the end of the movie, it was 2am, so we all scurried off to bed. Which reminds me; those precious girls each gave up their rooms for us…Jessi to Kat and Hope, and Evelyn to me…Gaby shared her room with her sisters (and I know how crazy that can be at times!). We were so blessed, but there is no way they are going to do that again; next time we go down, we’re going as sisters, and such behavior is unacceptable. πŸ˜‰

Days “2 & 3”, and “4 & Road Home” coming soon.

One thought on “Florida; Road Trip & Day One”

Leave a Reply

