Post 3: A Favorite Book


How can three little words inspire such excitement and instil such horror all in the same breath? Excitement as my mind ran furiously through the many titles I love….and horror of ‘how in the world will I pick out  just one?!’.

Yeah.

I could say CAPTIVATING, by John and Stasi Eldredge….a book that every woman should read. About the beauty that is in every woman; our role in life, created by God; even the characteristics of God that He has given us. Amazing, amazing book.

I could say one of Jane Austen’s works…such as MANSFIELD PARK; the book that no movie can be made of because none of these modern writers can understand Fanny. Or perhaps NORTHANGER ABBEY; with Jane’s renown wit poking at the gothic romance novels of the period, the sweet but totally naive Catherine Moreland, or even the (nearly) perfect Henry Tilney. Maybe I would write about the world-wide favorite, PRIDE & PREJUDICE. Or of the nosy, poking, but totally-meant-well EMMA.

I might mention how much I love the LORD OF THE RINGS, TWILIGHT, THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA, or THE LAUREN HOLBROOK series (great chick lit!). I might write for hours on end of the exploits of Sir Percival Blakeney, Sir Andrew Ffoulkes, Lord Antony Dewhurst, and the rest of the gang of THE SCARLET PIMPERNEL.

I could expound in detail of how much LADY IN WAITING by Jackie Kendall & Debby Jones has changed my life, by addressing my personal relationship with my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. I could talk about how encouraging Elizabeth George, Jennifer Lamp Neef, John MacArthur, John Piper, and Henry and/or Richard Blackaby‘s many works have been  in my life.

But no. Today I set type to monitor to tell you of GOD’S AND GENERALS. An epic book of the Civil War, written by Jeff Shaara. There was even a really awesome movie made from the book. This tale gives such a clear, impressive glimpse into the lives of these great men.

It focuses around the lives of four men; Robert E. Lee, Thomas ‘Stonewall’ Jackson, Winfield Scott Hancock, and Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain. I am/was a HUGE Civil War history buff, so appreciated that overall this was a very realistic account of the period.

Shaara’s attention to detail (without being overly so, such as Dickens is sometimes inclined to be) is quite enjoyable, his subtle humor more so. The descriptions he gives of people and places make you feel as though you are there yourself.

I highly recommend this book. His father, Micheal Shaara, wrote Killer Angels before Jeff wrote his own, a story of events that God’s and Generals preceds…I must warn you though, Micheal Shaara is not nearly as good a writer, in my opinion; plus, he uses quite a lot of foul language. Stick with G&G, you wont regret it. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Post 3: A Favorite Book”

  1. Awesome post! So entertaining and insightful. Last semester I took a class on Great Commanders and got myself Civil-War-ed for a while (thank you, Ken Burns). I’m going to take a class on Gettysburg in the near future and “Killer Angels” was the required reading. So thanks for the little warning – and now I know I have to go out and get “Gods and Generals” too – movie and book! My, is the wishlist filling up fast. 🙂

    1. It’s a great time period to study! I’ve always been nuts about it!
      I’m really quite wary of Ken Burns….in all honesty. I’d heard about his stuff on the civil war for quite some time, but when I finally got my hands on it and started watching, I couldn’t finish. I tried to get through it, but he had added quite a bit of stuff that was not accurate…it was just a lot of propaganda, really. Some of it was good, and true…I just couldn’t make it past all the glaring mistakes/opinions presented as truth.
      Killer Angels is a good read…just watch the language.
      YES! Definitely get both the movie AND the book…I’d almost recommend watching the film first, then you can place characters, and afterwards expound on those through the book.

      1. (Late reply, sorry. I forgot to subscribe to this…)

        But, yeah, thanks for the insight about Ken Burns. I’d never really studied the Civil War before watching it (I didn’t get through the whole thing), so I was pretty susceptible to any falsehoods. I really would love to get to know history a lot more so I can, like you, discern fact from exaggeration. (*sigh* more things to learn!)

        And thanks for the recommendation about G&G. LOL, the title would make me wonder, but glad to get a heads-up from someone like you. And watching the movie would make sense to gain a sense of character; movies are a good way to get visual sketches of people, and you don’t get lost in too many words and names, like in a book.

        Thanks for the insights again!

Leave a Reply

