Florida; Day Three


We had a delicious (Mrs H is an AMAZING cook! And the girls are pretty good, too!) breakfast with the family (Mr. H had just gotten in from a business trip the night before), and finally got out the door (you guessed it!) around 12pm! As Evelyn told Tim early in our visit….it is an extremely difficult thing to get 6 women out the door! lol

We met the guys (Tim, Ben, and Tripp–cutest little Welsh Corgi ever! Am I partial to dogs? Uhhh….maybe) at the boat dock. Ben very graciously allowed us on his boat (which in hindsight may not have been his best move, given what the three of us P girls could have done to his very nice boat…lol), and along with Jessi, had a very leisurely stroll (only, what do you call that when you’re in a boat instead of walking?) through the bay until we got to the wide open ocean. While on our way, we got to see a dolphin…and I missed the sting ray. Honestly, I hardly saw the dolphin…but I’m not admitting that publicly. πŸ™‚

Being on the beach is always a newish and exciting experience for us (seeing as we’ve only been about four or so times before–not counting the visits to Corpus Christi as wee little bairns), so doing so on a boat? We were in high heaven! It was a completely wonderful experience; put a totally new spin on our previous beach outings…on the outside looking in…or perhaps inside looking out, depending on the way you want it. πŸ™‚

She pretends to be an angel…

But even she can’t keep the facade up forever!

Jessi’s such a sweetheart…plus, she looks like a movie star. πŸ™‚ I would be jealous if I were capable of such an emotion…

I don’t know how it is, but these girls look gorgeous all the time! Come fair or foul, it doesn’t matter…I think it’s an accurate reflection of you they are on the inside.
Jessi really is an amazing woman…this girl is completely devoid of any mean bone in her body. She is the sweetest, most positive person I know!

Gaby is so cute! She’s a completely awesome talent when it comes to photography….check out Glimpses of Purity! She also has an amazing sense of humor…and killer instinct for picking out great music! πŸ™‚

Evelyn is truly inspirational; she’s a go-getter, totally, when the time comes for something, she doesn’t hesitate. She’s very relatable, the sort of person who encourages you to be/do better, just by being herself.

We took several tries at this thing, but something about hair and speed….didn’t quite mesh. But she’s so cute anyway! πŸ™‚

Tim is Evelyn’s beloved…the two of whom, I am more than thrilled to report, are since engaged! He’s a really great guy…and I’m not just saying that because he didn’t sink us all! πŸ˜‰

Ben is Tim’s brother…and the owner of the great boat! He was very generous to allow us P girls this great adventure; we had a blast! He, like Tim, is also aΒ  great guy, and we had a lot of fun hanging out with them all.

There were some great views…

Tripp got to enjoy them from the most strategic position on the boat.

I absolutely love this photo!

We spent some time on the beach…playing frisbee & softball, and eating lunch; afterwards we decided to go ‘exploring’. We soon weighed anchor and set out to conquer two small islands (I’m sure there’s another term for what we were on, but it beats me).

The two love birds were like this most of the time…it was quite sweet!

I am beyond words excited for this great couple. I look forward to seeing what God does in their lives together and how He uses them to His glory.

I’m not quite sure what Hope was doing here…but she looks cute doing it…whatever ‘it’ is. πŸ™‚

Β 

Sometimes, all we could do was take in the majesty of God’s creation.

She’s adorable!

I love this pic of Gaby! She’s such a sweetheart!

Over-exposed? Yes…so this picture does not do her justice, but I love her smile!

We did a LOT of shell gathering…they all were great, and aided us by scavenging themselves; we came home with a good many nice shells, most of which were given to us by better shell-hunters than ourselves!

Coming back from exploring ‘the other side’.

The beaches were simply gorgeous! The sand was extremely fine, and the water sparkled like crystal…it really took my breath away.

This must be their ‘Survivors’ pose….. πŸ˜‰

We had the amazing pleasure of seeing a manatee! That was so cool! Unfortunately, I never got a good picture…

What’s wrong? You don’t believe me?!

I told you there was one! πŸ˜‰

The H girl have been to Hawaii, and they said the beach there at Marco was comparable…I completely fell in love.

Oh, my goodness! There’s a body in the water! Oh, wait….that’s just Gaby. πŸ˜‰

The water was amazingly clear; can you see the shell fragments at the bottom, there?

Another of my favorite pictures…just can’t get enough of the water or the H girls!

Tim and Ben brought the boat around to the other side for us.

Kat and Jessi get along great; they have a lot of similarities.

Hope and Gaby have been calling each other weekly for the last several months, so they were able to pick right up!

Time to head back; amazingly great day that was surprisingly not over yet!

While Ben, Jessi, and Gaby brought the boat back around to the dock (a slow journey, but worth it!), Tim and Evelyn brought the three of us to a plaza of sorts…was a beautiful place. We gals walked around a bit, while Tim found a bench to wait it out and give us girls some time together (I personally think he was tired of sharing Evelyn with a bunch of crazy girls, and needed the time to regain his sanity! ;)).

There was a nice little boating dock there, as well.

We then met the other three at the dock, and then, while Ben brought his boat home and cleaned it (by himself–I still feel bad about that), the rest of us (seven) squeezed into a five-person car to go back home. Evelyn cooked an amazing meal (which Ben came over for after he finished), and we talked, joked around, and had fun in general just hanging with young people again. We also played some Mario Kart on Wii, complete with relay’s/tournaments–was a good bit of fun, even though I struggled to adjust to the Wii controllers (my brothers’ have Xbox…quite different). We headed back to the plaza-whatever for Coldstone ice cream and smoothies (I had a great bananna-raspberry smoothie), and to watch the sunset…which had pretty much already set by the time we got there. πŸ™‚

If these folks look a bit crazy…well, we did spend a great deal of time out in the sun, with probably not as much drinking water as we should have had…. lol
I can just be super glad that I was on this side of the camera!!! lol

Twilight at the dock. Was another really beautiful sight.

The great people we hung out with!

This was probably the best-first-long-girls-trip ever in the history of girl trips! πŸ™‚

We so enjoyed all the fun there…but more than that, was the company and spiritual encouragement. I came back feeling more refreshed, passionately alive, and on fire for the Lord than I have for years. Those girls down there are well and truly my sisters…as someone said, we have the bond of ‘kindred spirits’. No, we don’t agree with each other on everything; yes, we’d probably want to boil each other alive at times if we spent a prolonged amount of time together (shockingly, these girls insist that they’re not perfect! I never would have guessed! lol)….but we share our Lord in common, as well as quite a few other things, and the desire to follow Christ wherever that might be. I am grateful beyond words for the love, the kindredship, that God has given the six of us; and I look forward to many more years of growing in our relationships together!

One more post on Florida coming soon…but without many pictures.
Will be putting the above pics (and possibly more!) on my facebook, so if you’re my friend, you can see them there!

3 thoughts on “Florida; Day Three”

  1. Beautiful post!! I really really cannot believe the sweet blessing the Lord has given us in you girls!! I am with KattyRae here… just when I thought I was getting over missing you all, it hit me with brutal force again! I believe that the love you have for us is simply a reflection of your own Christ molded hearts and it is supernatural ;^) To God be the glory great things He has done! I ❀ U with OCEAN LOVE!

Leave a Reply

