Hidden Purpose


I realize that it’s been ages since I’ve posted last…I really can’t help that. My computer is on the caput and until I get it back whole and sound, I am restricted in my blogging and my writing.

That’s one thing I’ve been thinking a lot about recently….writing. Of course, I’m aching to get back to those plotlines (I did loose a lot of material when my hard drive crashed…hoping to get most of it back), but the bigger issue is how I approach my writing. With apology…with hesitation…perhaps even a little shame. I’ve just always understood that writing, my writing, was a closet obsession…not worthy of real pursuit. But who determines that, really? The stories I write are good and clean; they tell of the struggles faced by people…some are simply fiction portraying the lives of characters and their journey/struggle to walk with Christ….others are allegories.

The stories I write are a part of me…with them, I can express some of the frustrations, the sorrow, joy, desperation, and even the hope that is within me.

I realized that it is time to get serious. Serious about my writing and what it means to me. It is nothing to be ashamed about, and it is important enough to me to move it from last place on my priorities up several notches at least. That’s the only way I’m going to make any headway in them, and prove to those who look down on it that writing can be just as profitable an occupation as becoming a lawyer, a nurse, or even a sales clerk.

And that’s pretty much all I had to say.

4 thoughts on “Hidden Purpose”

  1. I love to write as well, stories that are deep and teach lessons. Are you thinking of publishing your stories? Or have you posted them anywhere? From one hobby writer to another, I’d love to see some of your work! And I don’t think it’s anything to be ashamed of — writing stories, that is. Why do you think that? I was just reading a commentary on the Song of Songs, and it mentioned that one interpretation of the book is that it was a three-character “play” on the follies of the lustful love of Solomon verses the true, pure love of the maiden and the shepherd. Reading the book that way made me realize that “story” is indeed a genre of Biblical books, as is prophecy, history, and letter. Christ used parables to make truths more accessible. Why can’t we? Writing does indeed help us express ourselves and our emotions. And we can use that to promote values and goodness.

  2. Well, Carmela, I hope that mine are deep and teach lessons…but really, they’re about characters that are inside me…they’re just stories that are bursting to be told…and I usually can’t write fast enough or find the words to express accurately….but there should be something that teaches/promotes values and goodness in them, as they do come from within me….where Christ is as well.

    I would really like to publish one day…I am actually (have been for a while) prayerfully considering getting my certificate in writing from the CWG (Christian Writers Guild).

Leave a Reply

