25….stranger things have happened…


If you been following me long (kudos to you if you have; I know I’m a spacey writer!), you might have read my lead-up-to-24 posts about a year ago. You see, for me, the new year doesn’t quite start on January 1st….no. Since my birthday is only about two weeks later, that’s when I start my new year…another year older, another year wiser…well, let’s hope so.

I just finished reading through them (there’s only about 6-7, it didn’t take long–you can find them under my archives for January of 2011), and was contemplating my goals for this new year….

25

That seems….well, honestly, it’s so surreal. The fact that I’m going to be twenty-five years old….

So much has happened. So much hasn’t happened. So much has changed. So much is still the same.

But one thing I know for sure is different is this:

I’m done waiting.

Not in a “I quite” way…but a slow realization that I don’t have to wait anymore…for life. It’s happening all around me, and I’m happy. I’m fine with it…even a little excited.

I know some things will stay the same…and some will change. That’s the way of life.

But I hope my writing will be one of those things that changes. Not my writing style…but just that I’ll be, perhaps, in a new season of writing where I really accomplish something.

I have puppies again, so I know my social life will change…for a while, at least till they’re able to be on their own much more.  And then, there’s the whole pregnancy thing to look forward to (is there even such a thing as a dog midwife? ‘Cause I’m gonna need one!! Yes, I’m a wimp…), which will limit me again.

I also hope that my spiritual life will change…and keep changing. I want to realize at the beginning of each new year that I’m stronger in my walk with God than the one before. I want to have more joy, more love…and I want to be able to share that with the world (intensely private person, here).

I want to build new relationships…and cultivate the old ones.

I would love to travel to Europe (Italy, Scotland, Ireland, England, etc…) and Australia someday….but I know that’s not likely to change this year. So I’ll be content traveling to sunny Florida, exploring the Texas hill country, or traversing the great Rocky Mountains.

I’d like to have my own place…but instead, I’ll try to live peaceably in my parents household…and try not to take control of the things I shouldn’t.

I want to be more healthy…and this is something I can change…in moderation. Activity everyday; hopefully back to running once it warms up (and if my knees would stop acting up), some regular volleyball games, some serious sweating with my workout buddy, Jillian, and even learn some new dance moves (which one day I’ll be brave enough to do in front of *gasp* people!) with my dance workout routines. Try to make healthy choices in what I eat…and be more positive in my thinking towards myself.

Maybe I’ll finally find time to learn how to work that recording equipment…and use it. I hope that I’ll be able to work on my songwriting, as well as the other types.

I’d like to be married…but again, probably not gonna change this year. So like I said before, I’ll concentrate on the friendships God sends me this new year, and focus also on the ones He’s already given.

Which leads me to my word for 2012: LOVE.

Not the mushy, romantic type of love that, yes, every girl dreams about….but that love that Christ has for us. That sacrificial, brotherly love. The kind of love that puts others before ourselves.

Because that’s the kind love I’m going to be working on this year.

 

6 thoughts on “25….stranger things have happened…”

  1. I’m done waiting.
    Not in a “I quite” way…but a slow realization that I don’t have to wait anymore…for life. It’s happening all around me, and I’m happy. I’m fine with it…even a little excited…

    its amazing..A few days ago i was thinking myself in exactly in the same!!..

Leave a Reply

