“Puddle”…or “Rainfall”


I’ve just started working through a book, “Writing Better Lyrics” or “The Essential Guide to Powerful Songwriting” by Pat Pattison. There are exercises given, and I thought I’d start posting my efforts each day.

This first one is, admittedly, terrible. But the thought is that with each consecutive day, they’ll get better. 🙂

So, here is “Puddle”, or as I’ve termed it more accurately, “Rainfall”.

Soft circles appeared sporadically, expanding from where they started, overlapping one another. The air tasted fresh, newly clean. I could smell the honeysuckle that grew wild along the fenceline. The ground was damp, soaking in the life that this rainfall offered.
The birds were nearly silent, most tucked away in their nests, I was sure, save one lone brave soul, who sang his song from the safety an overgrown bush provided.

Leave a Reply

