Blog Hop: A Writer’s Dream.


I say the above very much tongue-in-cheek.

Though, I suppose this could be somewhat fun. 🙂

I was asked to do this by my friend, Banjobo. And I realized; I haven’t shared much about my writing with you yet. Some of this reason is because I have this strange desire to keep my writing life separate from my “real” life. And mostly, ’cause I’m scared. I’m scared folks will see my writing for the trash it is, and they’ll wonder why I persist in wasting my life away in such pursuits.

But this is me, stepping out on a limb anyways…hoping against hope that you might not see through me quite yet. Or, even better, that there just might be something worthwhile in all this scribbling that I do….and that you might actually like it.

Book Tour: Ten Questions

This writers’ blog hop simply asks ten questions about your
current story, and then you tag five other writer-blogger
friends to participate next week.

1: What is the working title of your book?

Destiny’s Pull.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

Honestly, Destiny’s Pull is just a novella that explores a character from a book in my main series. Sean, the MC of Destiny’s Pull, is the cousin of the MC from Despite the Cost. While writing DtC, I became intrigued with Sean’s character; what made him the man he was? What exactly was his background story? Thus, DP was born.

3: What genre does your book come under?

Fantasy/Supernatural. Maybe a little Thriller/Drama, or YA even. I’m a little hazy on the genre classifications as yet. 🙂

4: Which actors would you choose to play your 
characters in a movie rendition?

Oh, I have this ALL PLANNED OUT. Now, if I could only get this published, get a movie deal, and produce the movie before all my chosen actors get too old to play their parts, well then… 😉

The MC is Sean Drakosopoulos. I haven’t yet seen any films with this actor, but based on appearance, Wentworth Miller is totally Sean. He captures his rugged independence, his loner, bad boy put-on attitude, and resourceful ingenuity.

Wentworth Miller as Sean

As for the secondary characters….Alona Tal for Lor, hands down. Has to be. She has the look, the personality, everything that makes Lor herself. Strong, confident & capable…yet vulnerable.Lauren 'Lor' Spencer

Simone was harder. I had this picture in my head for her character:

Simone

But, I had no idea as to the actress. I was brainstorming with KattyRae one day, and she suggested Catherine Zeta Jones. Now, I’m not a huge fan of hers, but I realized that she would indeed be perfect for Simone. She has that same regal, elegant beauty. Her acting abilities would easily communicate over to the Gorgon leader.

Catherine Zeta Jones as Simone

Ambrose was another easy choice. He’s the hunter with the tough facade…the man that is struggling with his inner despair and lost love. Who better than the man who brought Sam Anders of Battlestar Galactica to life? Michael Trucco is perfect for the role.

Micheal Trucco as Ambrose

As for the malevolent Malek…Burn Gorman stuck in my head. Gorman is a superb actor…I would love for him to appear in some other roles in my books, maybe even go against the grain and play someone good. But for now he stuck in this one. owen_harper

Several of the other secondary characters remain to be cast; but for Raynor, I was thinking someone like Mickey Rourke or Russel Crowe.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

There is always a choice to be made; for Sean, that choice was made while being pulled between his morals and love….do we follow destiny, or do we make our own?

6: Is your book self-published, published by an 
independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

I’m gonna go with an agency, if all works out.

7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of 
your manuscript?

Well, technically, I’m not quite finished yet. I wrote half of it in one month (back in Nov ’12), and hope to finish the last quarter by the end of January. If all goes according to plan, then it will have been 14 months.

8: What other books would you compare this story to 
within your genre?

Honestly, I’m not sure.  Maybe a little bit of Twilight, or even Hunger Games…but I don’t know if that’s the same genre, anyway.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Don’t hate me…but Twilight. Originally, this series was inspired by the Chronicles of Narnia and the Lord of the Rings. But at one point, after I had read most of the Twilight books, I started wondering what it would be like if some of my characters were enabled with special gifts….such as the ability to see the future. Add to that the endless hours studying Ancient Greek mythology in high school….and thus the Gorgons as you now know them were born.
This specific book was inspired by Despite the Cost…book one in my series, the Praeterita saga (see #2).

10: What else about your book might pique the 
reader’s interest?

This particular book is set entirely in earth, unlike my others. It is about the pull that Destiny has on our lives…and our ability to make our own destiny.

BONUS 11: Short Excerpt:

“There are moments when destiny hangs in the balance.
Crossroads come to us all, the chance to pursue our dreams or stay on the ground. To choose good…or evil. Whatever form she comes in, Destiny always offers a choice. She pulls us in one direction, but she always offers us the chance to go in another.
She gave me that choice today. I stood in that empty warehouse, torn between my morals and something much more powerful…the pull of destiny. My conscience told me to walk away, everything about this plan was wrong. My heart told me stay…how could I walk away from the woman I loved?

…Blue eyes and brown, as different as night and day. Both pleading with me to choose them.
Who I was, at war with the man destiny called me to be.
One offered happiness, the other peace of mind.
The choice was impossible.
But there in that warehouse, faced with the biggest decision of my life and an army ready to follow my every command; as I looked into her eyes, unwavering in her love for me, yet committed to her cause, the choice became suddenly clear. There was really only one choice for me from the start.”

Leave a Reply

